Remember me
Forgotten username or password?

Shostakovich concert in London and Cambridge

24th January 2005

Dear all,
The Shostakovich Society has advised us of the following concerts in London and Cambridge.
Best wishes

St John’s, Smith Square, London W1. Wednesday 2nd February 2005. 7.30. A recital of Shostakovich’s music for Viola and Piano by Lars Anders
Tomter (viola) and Havard Gimse (Piano). Viola edition of Cello Sonata in D Minor,Op 40; Suite from “The Gadfly” for Viola & Piano Op 97a and
Shostakovich’s last work, the Viola Sonata Op 147.
Box Officce: 020 7222 1061
or via www.sjss.org.uk
UK Shostakovich Society members are entitled to a 20% discount.

Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre. Thursday 3rd February 2005. 7.30.
The Philharmonia Orchestra Conductor Mikhail Pletnev, with James Tocco (piano) presents a programme of Shostakovich and Prokofiev. Shostakovich Festive Overture Op 96 & Symphony No. 15 Op 141 with Prokofiev’s 3rd Piano
There will be a pre-concert talk at 6.00 by Noelle Mann of the Prokofiev Archive at Goldsmith’s College.
Box Office 0800 652 6717.
UKSS members should quote ‘Shostakovich Society’ for a 20% reduction on ticket prices. www.rfh.org.uk

University of Cambridge Dept of Music Concert Hall West Road, Cambridge.
www.westroad.org Saturday 5th March 2005. Cambridge University Chamber Orchestra conducted by Peter Tregear will give the only second-ever UK
performance of Benjamin Fleischmann's one-act opera, Rothschild's Violin (1942), in the scoring completed by Shostakovich.
The opera is a setting of the short story by Anton Chekhov of the same name. Fleischmann was a
Russian Jew who died in the defence of Leningrad in 1942. Shostakovich, who was his composition teacher, completed the score soon after his death,
but was unable to promote the work owing to resistance by the Soviet cultural authorities.
In the same concert, soloist Ernst Kovacic will give the UK premiere of Ernst Krenek's Violin Concerto No. 1, op. 29 (1925). This concerto is a masterpiece of expressive neo-classicism from one of Austria's most dynamic and influential musical figures (and a particular
influence on Shostakovich). The programme also includes 2 Suites for Small Orchestra (1921 & 1925) by Igor Stravinsky.

Members of the United Kingdom Shostakovich Society are entitled
to concessions.
Tickest £12/£8 available approximately four weeks in advance.
These can be purchased from the Corn Exchange Box Office, Wheeler Street,
Cambridge CB2 3QB; Tel: 01223 357851; Email: [removed]

Registered Charity Number 1148802; Company Number 8143145;
Website by Pelinor; Header by MvB