Remember me
Forgotten username or password?

Russian Musicians at Southampton

3rd September 2006

Received from the Turner Sims Concert Hall, University of Southampton:

We have two wonderful classical concerts this season featuring some great
Russia musicians. The opening concert of the season (Tuesday 3 October)
features piano masters Dimitri Alexeev and Nikolai Demidenko in a piano
duet and on Saturday 25 November we welcome the wonderful Russian
violinist Viktoria Mullova in a rare duet with pianist Katia Labeque.

Full details of the concerts below here and you can find information about
the rest of the Turner Sims Autumn season on our website

Dmitri Alexeev & Nikolai Demidenko

Opening Night of the Season

Tuesday 3 October – 8pm

Dmitri Alexeev piano

Nikolai Demidenko piano

Saint-Saëns Variations on a Theme of Beethoven, Op 35

Rachmaninov Suite No 1, Fantaisie-tableaux, Op 5

Prokofiev Suite from Cinderella (arr Alexeev)

Gershwin Suite from Porgy and Bess (arr Alexeev)

Alexeev and Demidenko are as remarkable when lost in bittersweet
reflection as they are in dazzling virtuosity Gramophone

A mouthwatering opening concert of the season brings together two great
Russian pianists. Alexeev and Demidenko were friends in Moscow as
co-students of the famous teacher Dmitri Bashkirov. In tonight’s
programme Russian repertoire including Rachmaninov’s suite dedicated
to Tchaikovsky sits alongside Saint-Saëns’ popular set of
variations. The concert ends with Dmitri Alexeev’s suite from
Gershwin’s great folk opera.

£20 (£19 concessions, £18 Friends, £10 students)


Viktoria Mullova & Katia Labèque

Saturday 25 November – 8pm

Viktoria Mullova violin

Katia Labèque piano

Stravinsky Suite Italienne (after Pulcinella)

C Schumann Romance No 1, Op 22

Dave Maric Falling to the Sky

Schubert Fantasy in C, D934

Ravel Violin Sonata

Both Viktoria Mullova and Katia Labèque have performed separately at the
Turner Sims in recent years. Now they give audiences an opportunity to
experience their magical duo partnership. The pair’s wide-ranging
virtuosity is sure to thrill, in a programme that includes a rarely
performed work by Clara Schumann, Stravinsky's Suite Italienne – better
known in its orchestral form as his ballet suite Pulcinella – and a solo
work by Dave Maric. The evening is completed by Schubert's exquisite C
major Fantasy and Ravel's jazz-influenced Violin Sonata.

£20 (£19 concessions, £18 Friends, £10 students)

Registered Charity Number 1148802; Company Number 8143145;
Website by Pelinor; Header by MvB